Using assignments to delegate work is a great way to collaborate with others on projects. When you assign tasks from your My Queues, it’s easy to keep track of exactly what information the assignee has and what they can do. You can also assign tasks from shared queues or team queues. Here’s all you need to know about what assignees can do with different permissions.

Team queues

Non-team members, viewers, and commenters

One of the great things about assignments is that someone doesn’t have to be a member of your team in order to be assigned a task. When a team task is assigned to someone who isn’t a member of the team, they will only be able to view the task and mark it complete from their Assignments queue.

Complete Assignments from your Assignment queue

Viewers and Commenters will also complete the task from their Assignments queue, but they’ll also be able to view it within the team. Commenters can also leave comments on tasks from within the team.

Completers, collaborators, managers, and owners

If the assignee is a Completer, Collaborator, Manager, or Owner, they can mark a task complete from their Assignments queue, from Smart Queues, and from the team queue, just like the assigner of the task.

Complete Assignments as a Completer, Collaborator, Manager, or Owner

Marking the task complete from the Team Queue or Smart Queue will mark it fully complete, so the task owner will not have to do that later on. Marking it complete from the Assignments queue means the original task in the Team will need to be marked complete by a fellow completer, collaborator, manager, or owner later.

Shared queues

When you give someone an assignment in a shared queue, what they can do depends on whether the queue was shared with View-Only or Collaborator permissions.

View-Only access

If your queue was shared with View-Only access, then the assignee can only mark an assignment complete from their Assignments queue.

Complete Assignments with View-Only access from Assignments queue

Please Note: This won’t mark the entire task complete. The task owner will have to mark the task complete from the main queue once it’s finished.

Collaborator access

Collaborators can still mark assignments complete from their Assignments queue, just like Viewers. In addition, they can also mark the task complete from the shared queue and Smart Queues, just like the task owner.

Complete Assignments from Shared Queues

If a Collaborator marks the task complete from the shared queue or Smart Queues, it will be fully complete for everyone, meaning the task owner won’t have to go back and complete it later.


What’s Next?

Delegate work with assignments

Manage assignments to balance your workload

Did this answer your question?