The more you use GQueues, you may notice patterns in how you like to create your tasks, or that you’ve developed a new habit of adding tasks in the opposite position in the queue than you used to. Here are 5 ways to adjust your settings to make creating and completing tasks as quick and easy as possible for how you work.

Set a default reminder

Save time when creating new tasks by setting a default reminder that will be automatically applied to all new tasks. You can always override this by explicitly setting a different one when you create the task.

Go to the Calendar tab in Settings. Under Default reminder choose the reminder type and time.

Set default reminder for any newly created tasks from your settings

All new tasks with a date or time will get this reminder, whether created in GQueues, via email, or from the Chrome extension.

Set default task duration

To set the default length of all tasks with dates or times, go to the Calendar tab in GQueues Settings. Under Default durations choose the default length for tasks with dates only, and for tasks with dates and times.

Set default duration for any newly created tasks from your settings

All new tasks with a date or time will get this duration unless otherwise specified.

Add tasks at the top of the queue

When you click the Add task button in a queue, it will create the new task at the end of the queue.

If you prefer to have tasks inserted at the beginning of a queue by default, you can change this in the Queues tab of Settings. Under Insert location choose if you want to have new tasks inserted at the top or bottom of the queue.

Choose whether new tasks are created at the top or bottom of a queue from your settings

Set checkmark action for completing tasks

By default, only top-level tasks are completed and archived simultaneously. Subtasks are completed but left on the active list crossed out.

To adjust this, go to the Tasks tab of GQueues Settings, under Checkmark action. You can choose to change it so All tasks or No tasks are archived at the same time as being completed.

Choose whether completed tasks are immediately sent to archive, or just crossed out

👉 Pro Tip: You can send tasks right to the archive by holding the Shift key while marking them complete, regardless of the settings you choose here.

Add new lines in task notes

When writing notes in your tasks in GQueues, you can add new lines by holding the Shift key down and pressing the Enter key.

You can change this setting in the Tasks tab in Settings. Under New lines, select if you’d prefer to have Shift + Enter or Enter create the new line in the notes.

Set whether Enter or Shift + Enter adds a new line in task notes

What’s Next?

Add tasks quicker using Quick Add

Use templates to make complicated tasks in just a few clicks

Best practices for tracking task status

Did this answer your question?