If you’re looking for the best way to collaborate with others, then Teams are definitely the way to go. With shared ownership over tasks, a separate calendar in Google Calendar, and more permission levels, they’re ideal for making sure you can work together efficiently.
But if you have a one-off partnership or want to give a client the ability to view one of your queues that’s relevant to them without giving them access to every queue in a category, then sharing specific queues is a good option. It’s a way for folks with a GQueues for YOU subscription to keep others in the loop with what you’re working on, and get help when you need it.
Share a queue
To share a queue you can either:
Choose Share from the queue’s More menu
Select Share from the queue’s dropdown menu in the left hand panel
This will open the sharing window for that queue, where you can manage access.
To share with a new person, type their email address and click Add. Their name will appear in the list of people with access. Once you click Save, this queue will show up in their account under the Shared with Me block in their left hand panel.
Connecting with Google Contacts makes it even easier to add folks, since people already in your contact list will auto-populate as you start to type.
Choose sharing access
Make sure you set the correct access when you share a queue with someone. You can choose between Viewer and Collaborator when you first add the user.
You can also adjust their role from the dropdown next to their name in the sharing window later.
Types of sharing
View only sharing
When you share a queue with someone as a viewer, it will still show in their Shared with me block, but they will only be able to view the queue. They can also print it and link to specific tasks, but they cannot make changes in any way.
This is a nice option if you want someone to be in the loop of what you’re working on, but don’t want them to be able to make changes, such as a client who you want to keep in the know about your progress on their project.
When you make someone a collaborator on a queue, they will be able to view it and make changes. This includes changing the description or notes for existing tasks, adding new tasks, and deleting tasks. You should only share a queue in collaboration mode with people you trust to modify the queue.
👉 Pro Tip: If you want more options to manage what users have permission to do in a queue, try out teams!
Changes made to collaborative queues happen in real-time, so if two people are working on a queue simultaneously, the changes made by each person will be instantly visible to the other.
❗️Please Note: A subscription is required to initiate collaborative sharing with someone else. But any user can edit a queue that has been shared to them in collaboration mode.
When a queue has been shared in collaboration mode, a person icon appears on the queue color as a quick visual indicator.
When other people are viewing a shared queue at the same time as you, their icons will appear to the right of the queue title.
See who has access to your queue
If it’s been a while since you made changes to your queue’s sharing, you can quickly check who has access to your queue by either:
Opening the sharing window
Opening the Queue Info Panel
Change or remove access
You can always reopen the sharing window to adjust someone’s access from the dropdown next to their email.
If you want to remove access, hover your mouse over the user’s email and click the X. This will unshare the queue and remove it from their Shared with Me block.