Queues are ordered lists used to prioritize your tasks. You can’t have a task without first creating a queue for it to live in. Here’s what you need to know to start customizing your workspace.

Queue Basics

Add a queue

Hover over the category you’d like the queue to live in, click the dropdown menu on the right and choose Add Queue.

Add a new queue from the dropdown menu.

This will create a new queue that you can give a name

Your new queue appears on the left-hand panel.

Rename a queue

You can rename a queue in 2 ways:

  • In the left-hand panel, click the dropdown menu for the queue you wish to rename, then click Rename.

    Rename your queue.

    This will open a pop-up window where you can edit the queue’s name.

Save your new queue name.
  • Click the name of the queue currently open and make your changes there. Press the Enter key when you’re done.

Rename a queue by editing the queue name directly

Change queue color

To set a new color, open the queue’s dropdown menu from the left-hand panel and select Change color. Then choose a color from the options.

Change queue color from the lefthand panel

View a queue

Click on the queue name in the left-hand panel to view the tasks in a queue.

The current queue in bold will show active tasks in the center of your screen

👉Pro Tip: The current queue will appear in bold in the category

Number of tasks in a queue

You can easily see the number of tasks in a queue by glancing at the queue name. The number in parentheses to the right of the name shows how many active, top-level tasks that queue has.

Please Note: This does not apply to Smart Queues or the Tag block.

You can't see the number of tasks in Smart Queues from the left panel.

Reorder queues

You can move queues within a category by clicking and dragging the queue to the desired position.

If you want to move a queue to a different category, make sure to expand the new category before moving the queue.

Move queues around by dragging and dropping within a category or to a new category

👉 Pro Tip: To quickly sort all queues within a category alphabetically, choose Alphabetize queues from the category’s dropdown menu

Alphabetize your queues.

Clean up a queue

Depending on your checkmark settings, your queues can get clogged up pretty quickly with already-completed tasks that are still hanging around.

If this ever gets too overwhelming, you can click Archive Completed from the queue’s dropdown menu in the left-hand panel to send all completed tasks to the queue archive.

Archive your completed tasks.

Refresh a queue

If you recently made a change that isn't reflected in a queue, you can refresh the queue by clicking the refresh button. This will make sure the queue has the most recent data from the servers.

Refresh a queue to ensure you're seeing the most up-to-date information

Delete a queue

A queue might become less useful over time. You can remove old queues so they don’t take up any of your mental space by clicking Delete Queue from the queue’s dropdown menu in the left-hand panel. This will delete the queue and all of its active and archived tasks.

Delete a queue from the queue menu.


What’s Next?

Track information with the Queue Info Panel

Best practices for queues

Create and edit tasks

Did this answer your question?